Black History Month: Giants you should know in the MHS Hall of Distinction

Publish Date: 02/18/2021

In the midst of Black History Month, we're taking a moment to put the spotlight on some of our Marion High School alumni who have earned a spot in the MHS Hall of Distinction. Induction into the Marion High School Hall of Distinction is one of the highest honors Marion Community Schools gives.

The purpose of the Marion High School Hall of Distinction, created in 2006, is to give lasting recognition to Marion High School graduates who have made exceptional contributions to the achievements and prestige of Marion Community Schools. The Hall of Distinction also promotes more interest in Marion High School and displays the success of past graduates who have contributed in making Marion schools exceptional. These outstanding Giants can inspire current students to set their goals high and work to reach them!

Each year, a new set of inductees is added to the Hall of Distinction. Black history is American history, and Marion history includes so many amazing Black graduates of Marion High School who have gone on to make a GIANT impact on the world. Click on the links to learn more about of these inspiring Giants: 

2006 inductees


  • Edmund Casey, Class of 1942, lauded physician, first African-American on staff at Bethesda Hospital in Cincinnati; president of National Medical Association; U.S. Air Force veteran
  • Oatess Archey, Class of 1955, first African-American sheriff in Indiana; FBI agent, security liaison for major events, U.S. State Department, and White House; educator, coach 

2008 inductee

  • Bill Perry, Class of 1969, chairman of the Diversity Leadership Council for the U.S. Military Academy (West Point); longtime manager in tech and financial services, including AT&T and IBM, CEO of Global Performance Solutions

2009 inductee

  • Clark Beck, Class of 1947, aerospace engineering expert, served at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base; professor and college administrator in Ohio; STEM education innovator 

2010 inductee

  • Todd Nukes, Class of 2010, chief deputy U.S. marshal; senior inspector for judicial security, handling details for several U.S. Supreme Court justices among others

2014 inductees


  • James Arnett Wilson, Class of 1937, Tuskegee airman, exceptional educator at Phillips High School and Kennedy-King College in Chicago
  • Lennon Brown, honorary inductee, outstanding, transformational leader as principal of Marion High School, which gained state and national attention for turnaround during his tenure

2015 inductee

  • Greg Taylor, Class of 1988, Indiana state senator; economic development expert; prominent business and finance attorney 

2016 inductees


  • Avis Stewart, Class of 1970, longtime teacher, coach, administrator, community leader, first at Marion Community Schools, then at Richmond High School, then at Earlham College, where he served as interim president
  • Zach Randolph, Class of 2000, three-time NBA All-Star, player from 2001 to 2019 (for Portland, New York, L.A., Memphis, and Sacramento); philanthropist; member of the MHS Athletics Hall of Fame

2017 inductees


  • Arthur "Art" Faulkner, Class of 1958, is a respected leader and philanthropist. He served as Department Director at Marion General Hospital and served on the Marion School Board for 12 years.
  • Latondra Newton, Class of 1986, is chief diversity officer senior VP for Walt Disney Co. and held multiple high- level leadership roles at Toyota Motor Corporation.

2018 inductees


  • Earl Green, Class of 1940, was the First African-American postmaster in Grant County. He also served as a County Council Member, an accomplished airplane pilot, and author of poetry and short stories.
  • Carlton Rose, Class of 1980, is President of Global Fleet Maintenance and engineering for UPS.
  • Erika Davis Sears, Class of 1998, is a plastic surgeon specializing in hand surgery and recovery. She is particularly proud to provide care for Veterans with hand trauma.



2019 inductees


  • Bobbie Owensby, honorary inductee, Marion High School social studies teacher for decades; sponsor of Black History Club which has expanded horizons for more than one generation of students with its spring break HBCU trips, annual plays, and more; respected and beloved community leader


2020 inductees

HoD_2020_Browner   HoD_2020_Weaver   

  • Kenneth Browner, Class of 1982, teacher who helped develop African American history and ethnic studies curricula for Indianapolis area schools, well-respected track coach, Indiana Association of Track & Cross Country Coaches Hall of Fame inductee
  • Lesley Weaver, Ph.D, Marion High School Class of 2004, molecular biologist and researcher, faculty member at Indiana University, active mentor who works to recruit, retain, and support underrepresented minorities in STEM-related fields



Do you know of an outstanding Marion High School alum that deserves recognition in the MHS Hall of Distinction?

>> Click here to learn more about the Hall of Distinction and how to submit nominations