Vermilion, Dollar, Scheer earn Mary Clark Hanley Teaching Excellence Award

Publish Date: 05/28/2020

Five teachers have earned special recognition as this year’s nominees and recipients of the Mary Clark Hanley Teaching Excellence Award.

The nominees are an exclusive group that personifies excellence. They were selected by their respective principals or coordinators. The 2019-20 nominees are:

  • Lauren Vermilion, Allen Elementary School
  • Diana Dollar, Frances Slocum Elementary School
  • Sophie Hrinowich, Kendall Elementary School
  • Kimberly Prater, Riverview Elementary School
  • Kevin Scheer, Justice Intermediate School

Vermilion, Dollar, and Scheer were chosen as the winners of the award. The winners were selected by the director of human resources, the district director of education, and an elementary principal, as requested by the Community Foundation.

Marion Community Schools congratulates all of these excellent teachers and thanks them for the work they do every day, and the difference it makes in our students' lives.

The Hanleys had the good fortune to be successful financially and wanted to give back to those individuals, communities, and institutions that have contributed over the years to their success. Mr. Hanley’s mother was certainly on that list, inspiring him educationally to be the best he could be, and that is why they named this award in her honor.

The award, set up in 2000 through the Community Foundation of Grant County to memorialize her name and her commitment to education and to promote excellence in teaching, is given annually to three outstanding elementary teachers in the MCS system, and this year included a prize of $500.