School News

News for Marion Community Schools

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees honored several outstanding Marion High School seniors at their regular meeting on Dec. 14. 

Micah Hoeksema was honored as one of two Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship winners in Grant County, a full-tuition scholarship to any college in Indiana. Micah plans to attend Taylor University in Upland, where he'll major in Spanish and biology/pre-med.

This scholarship recognizes outstanding academic accomplishments, as well as community service, extra-curricular involvement and more.

We are so proud of Micah, and of MHS's four other Lilly Scholarship finalists, who were also honored: Truman Bennet, Anne Marie Conrad, Courtney Hiles, and Nick Spitzer. These are all outstanding students and fantastic young people. We look forward to seeing the great things the future has in store for all of them!

Pictured, left to right: Board President Aaron Vermilion, Board 1st Vice President Cathy Moritz, Board 2nd Vice President Greg Kitts, Lilly Scholarship Winner Micah Hoeksema, board member Pam Hutchison, Lilly finalist Anne Marie Conrad, board member Scott Murphy, Lilly finalist Truman Bennet, board member Chuck Griffin, and Superintendent Brad Lindsay.
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees recently honored the winners and finalists in the annual MCS holiday card competition.

Every year, art teachers across the district select the best artwork from their students to submit to the competition. Then, winners are chosen at the district level, and the winning artwork is used in the annual MCS holiday cards, which are made available to order in November. The cards are printed at the Marion Regional Career Center.

This year, the winning artists were Lucille Schlotterback, a Little Giants Preschool student at Frances Slocum Elementary School, and Sesilia Guy, a fourth-grader at Kendall Elementary School. Here's a look at the cards featuring their artwork: 


The other finalists honored by the board at the Dec. 14, 2016, meeting were:
  • Gracie Chandler, fourth grade, Kendall Elementary
  • Trammy Chau, preschool, Frances Slocum Elementary
  • Katie Cheshire, fifth grade, Justice Intermediate 
  • Tyrelle Cox, third grade, Frances Slocum Elementary
  • Elijah Dennison-Sander, preschool, Kendall Elementary
  • Ryleigh Dillman, second grade, Riverview Elementary
  • Cherish Frazier, 11th grade, MHS
  • Justin Johnson, 11th grade, MHS
  • Eli Lootens, 10th grade, MHS
  • Halle Mims, fourth grade, Frances Slocum Elementary
  • Alex Nikolulis, fifth grade, Justice Intermediate 
  • Silas Oyler, preschool, Frances Slocum Elementary
  • Raven Sollars, third grade, Allen Elementary
  • Andrew Terhune, first grade, Riverview Elementary
  • Kyliegh Yeakle, fourth grade, Allen Elementary
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News A group of Riverview Elementary students recently went caroling at three local health care centers. 

This group spread holiday cheer and spirit with others and put big smiles on lots of faces! They visited Brookdale Assisted Living Center, Miller's Merry Manor, and Northwood Manor.

We are proud of this group for showing GIANT kindness and care for the elderly in our community!

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees approved the 2017-18 and 2018-19 school year calendars at their regular meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 14. 

To view these calendars, which outline start and end dates as well as all school holidays and breaks, click here.
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The Marion High School JROTC Rifle Marksmanship Team proved last weekend that they are truly the best-shooting cadets in Indiana. Not only did the Giants win the JROTC Rifle Marksmanship State Championship, beating dozens of other teams representing the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps JROTC programs across the state, but they also produced the No. 1 individual shooter in the state as well.

Members of the MHS JROTC Marksmanship Team poses with their state championship trophy. Team members and coaches, left to right, are: Joseph O'Donnell, Assistant Coach Lee Hatten, Kayleigh Smith, Taylor Sorah, Assistant Coach David Kuester, Levi Hofmann, Lt. Col. David Farlow, Hailey Teeguarden, and Rhianna Gary.

Indianapolis Public Schools on Saturday, Dec. 10, hosted the first-ever statewide competition designed to identify the top JROTC marksmanship unit, thus earning the title of State Champion. At the meet, the six-cadet team from Marion was led by a season-best performance from freshman Levi Hofmann, who earned the highest overall score for an individual.  

“I really felt like I was shooting well in all three positions,” Hofmann said after the match. “But it was a great surprise to end up with the highest score and become the No. 1 shooter in the state.”

Hofmann’s achievement lifted the whole team, said retired Lt. Col. David Farlow, Marion High School’s senior Army instructor and the marksmanship team’s coach.

“The team as a whole shot well,” he said, “but the superior shooting of Cadet Hofmann clearly carried us to victory over several other great teams.”

MHS cadets take aim to win the Indiana JROTC Rifle Marksmanship State Championship on Saturday, Dec. 10, 2016, in Indianapolis.

The Giants defeated strong teams from the JROTC programs of Warren Central (Army) and Ben Davis Marine Corps) high schools, who earned second and third place, respectively.

“I am so proud of our team,” said Taylor Sorah, a junior, the team’s captain, and a state champion marksman herself, having won the 2016 Junior Shooting State Championship, hosted by the American Legion in March. “This has been our best season ever. Winning the state championship makes it that much better.”

Other cadets on the state championship team were: Kayleigh Smith, a senior, Rhianna Gary and Joseph O’Donnell, both juniors, and Hailey Teeguarden, a sophomore.